Shortlisted poets announced!

The University of Kwa Zulu-Natal’s Centre for Creative Arts (CCA) presents the 24th edition of the Time of the Writer (TOW) International Festival currently under way and is being  hosted virtually on the festival’s social media channels from 15 to 21 March 2021.

The curators will co- host an event to celebrate Human Right Day and World Poetry Day on Sunday 21st March at 5pm. This one-hour live-streamed programme will showcase readings and performances by 6  poets shortlisted from the submissions, and  will also be graced by well-loved SA poets Diana Ferrus and Busisiwe Mahlangu. 

In order to attend, register on the TOW website and be part this powerful digital gathering where poetry meets human rights: https://tow.ukzn.ac.za/24th-edition-programme/. The session will also be broadcast live on the various TOW social media platforms.

The poets have spoken! And their voices speak to our hearts, minds and spirits, courageously piercing the shadows of injustice and unveiling what we need to remember, consider and act upon here and now. The substantial number of submissions and the calibre of work submitted made the task of selection a major challenge to the curators, yet we are excited to announce the following shortlisted poets. Each selected poet will receive R750 and have one of their poems published as part of a print and online publication, supported by this poetry project’s partners and sponsors. In alphabetical order the selected poets are :

1. Aaliyah Kara
2. Amy Brown
3. Athol Williams
4. Brett “Fish” Anderson
5. Charl Landsberg
6. Dewald Jacobs
7. Dimakatso Sedite
8. Esihle Lupindo
9. Flow Wellington
10. Gorata Chengeta
11. Hlox Rebel
12. Jaqueline Dommisse
13. Jeffrey Hartzenberg
14. Jethro Louw
15. Joseph Marcus Mofokeng
16. Khadija Tracey Heeger
17. Kwazi Ndlangisa
18. Lindy Dlamini
19. Lufuno Kenneth Masuvhhekele
20. Madoda Ndlakuse
21. Masoodah Mohamed
22. Matodzi Fortunate Magoro
23. Melissa Sussens
24. Meshalini Govender
25. Michael Wentworth
26. Miriam Gayize
27. Moekoa Juliah Mapula
28. Mthunzikazi Mbungwana
29. Mziwonke Qwesha
30. Nkululeko Zondi
31. Phelelani Makhanya
32. Pieter Odendaal
33. Quintine Sir’trophimus Dlhamini
34. Ros Posel
35. Sibonginkosi Netha
36. Sobhna Poona
37. Sumaiya Vawda
38. Tebogo Mamabolo
39. Thato Tshukudu
40. Thenjiwe Mswane
41. Tsietsi Phatsoane
42. Vanessa Brown
43. Vuyokazi Ngemntu
44. Xabiso Vili
45. Zoleka Ntshingila

Latest Posts